The legitimate age of consent in Califonia is 18 year old. This means it is a crime because that anyone, regardless of age, to have actually sexual intercourse through a human being under the period of 18. Having sex through a boy can result in prosecution for a crime – commonly for statutory rape, per Penal code 261.5.
You are watching: Age of consent in california new law
The adhering to are a couple of scenarios that could lead to computer 261.5 charges:a 19-year-old female high school an elderly has sex with a 16-year-old male that is in number of of she classes;a 35-year-old college professor establishes a sexual relationship with a 17-year-old girl who is in among the classes that teaches; anda pair that high institution sweethearts who have actually been dating for three years have actually sex for the an initial time once he is one 18-year-old yet she is still only 16.
The crime of statutory rape is a California “wobbler” offense. This method that the crime have the right to be fee as either a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the facts of the case. The offense have the right to be punished by up to four years in jail or prison.
Note that California go not have actually a Romeo and also Juliet law. “Romeo and Juliet” laws prevent the prosecution of people who engage in consensual sexual task when:both parties are really close in age to one another, andboth are below the age of consent.
There is one exception where a minor can legally have sexual intercourse v an adult. This is as soon as the 2 parties are lawfully married.
A charge concerned statutory rape is the fee of lewd acts through a boy child, under Penal code 288. PC 288 specifies a “lewd act v a young child” together either:touching a kid for sex-related purposes, orcausing a son to touch him/herself or who else because that a sexual purpose.
Depending ~ above the facts of a case, a conviction of lewd acts v a minor can lead to:up to life in the California state prison.
Our California criminal defense attorneys will certainly highlight the complying with in this article:
If a boy is lawfully married come an adult, climate they may interact in consensual sex.
5. Is there any kind of exception wherein a minor deserve to have sexual relationships with one adult?
There is one exception where a minor can have sex-related intercourse with an adult. This is once the 2 parties room married.
Penal code 261.5a states:
“Unlawful sexual intercourse is an plot of sexual intercourse achieved with a human being who is not the spouse of the perpetrator, if the person is a minor.”
(emphasis added). The language, “not the spouse the the perpetrator,” way that no statutory rape charges will certainly be filed if:there is consensual sex between two parties,one or much more of the people is below the age of 18, andthe 2 parties are lawfully married.
Note the California is one of just a few states that does not have a minimum period for marriage. If a minor despite decides to marry, that human must attain parental consent and also a court order prior to the marriage.
6. Is the legal because that an adult to date a boy in California?
While in general, the is legal for an adult to day a minor, it is frequently unwise because that this come happen.
And, it is illegal because that an adult to day a minor if the adult:has a criminal record,is a sex offender, oris a teacher or in a similar position of trust or authority.
Please likewise note that, based upon California law, it is illegal for an adult come do any kind of of the following with a minor that is dating:have sex,purchase because that or re-superstructure alcohol or cigarettes,bring the minor to an R-rated movie, andshow any type of pornography.
7. Room there any legal defenses come statutory rape charges?
There are three typical legal defenses to any accusations the statutory rape. This are:falsely accused – which means the alleged victim misidentified the defendant or lied,age of consent – which means both parties that involved in sexual intercourse to be 18 year of period or older, andno sex-related intercourse – which means that while two persons under 18 may have had actually an intimate encounter, they go not connect in “sexual intercourse.”
Note the consent is not a defense to statutory rape allegations.6 the is also not a defense the the defendant thought the boy was that age.7
In any type of case, the district attorney has actually the burden to prove guilt beyond a reasonable doubt. As long as prosecutors failure to satisfy this burden, the charge should be dismissed.
8. What is California Penal password 288 – lewd acts with a young child?
Penal password 288 is the California state that renders it a sex crime because that a human to connect in a lewd act with a minor child.
The statute specifies a “lewd act with a young child” as either:touching a son for sex-related purposes, orcausing a kid to touch him/herself or who else for a sexual purpose.8
Technically, this section uses when the victim is everyone under period 16.9 But since most prosecutions under this section involve children under 14, this crime is regularly referred come as:lewd acts with a boy under 14,lewd acts upon a young under 14, oracts the lewd and lascivious conduct.
The penalties for a violation of PC 288 depend top top a combination of factors, including:the period of the child,whether the lewd act was achieved by force, violence, duress, or threats,whether there was a sample of lewd acts, andif the son was 14 or 15, the period of the defendant.
Depending top top the facts of the case, a conviction of lewd acts with a minor deserve to lead to:imprisonment in the ar jail for as much as one year, orup come life in the California state prison.
See more: Are Indian Motorcycles Still Being Made, Indian Motorcycle Company Goes Bankrupt
For additional help…
Call united state for help. We have offices in Los Angeles, mountain Francisco, and throughout the state.